Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

2019 Dr. John Hope Franklin Award Winners Announced


Contact: Maya Matthews Minter
[email protected]
Phone: 703.385.2411

FAIRFAX, Va. — Diverse: Issues In Higher Education is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Dr. John Hope Franklin Award.

Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, one of the nation’s most prominent historians, is the Victor S. Thomas Professor of History and African and African American Studies at Harvard University. She has been a tenured faculty member at Harvard since 1993, and chaired the Department of African and African Americans Studies from 2006-2013. Last year she made history as the first African American appointed to lead Harvard’s history department. During her illustrious career she has demonstrated unwavering commitment to teaching and increasing the number of Ph.D.’s who will follow in her footsteps. In 2016 she became the National President of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), founded by Dr. Carter G. Woodson in 1915. She is the recipient of numerous awards and honors and has also taught on the faculties of Dartmouth College, the University of Maryland and the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Michael T. Nettles is nationally recognized as a top policy researcher on educational assessment, student performance and achievement and educational equity. In August 2014 President Barack Obama appointed Nettles to the President’s Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for African Americans. He was also appointed by two U.S. Secretaries of Education to serve on the National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB), which oversees and develops policies for the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP). Currently he is Senior Vice President and the Edmund W. Gordon Chair of the Educational Testing Service (ETS) Policy Evaluation & Research Center (PERC). He sits on numerous boards and for several decades he has served the education community tirelessly in efforts to close achievement gaps and improve educational opportunities for minorities.

About this Award:

The Dr. John Hope Franklin Award was created in 2004 to pay tribute to Dr. Franklin, historian, writer, educator and humanitarian who made significant contributions to shaping the perspective of American history in the 20th century.

With the late Dr. Franklin’s permission, Diverse created the award to institutionalize and celebrate his scholarly contributions to the nation on an ongoing basis. The individuals and organizations chosen are those whose contributions to higher education are consistent with the highest standards of excellence.

Past recipients have included Dr. Clifton Wharton, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Dr. Maya Angelou, the late Dr. William Friday and Dr. Johnnetta B. Cole, just to name a few.

Award Presentation:

The awards presentation will take place on the evening of Monday, March 11, 2019 during the 101st centennial meeting of the American Council on Education (ACE) in Philadelphia, Pa.

The March 21, 2019 edition of Diverse will include a feature profile on this year’s award recipients.

For more than three decades, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education has been America’s premier source of timely news, provocative commentary, insightful interviews and in-depth special reports on diversity in higher education. Savvy individuals who appreciate the crucial and ever-changing role that higher education plays in the lives of students, professionals, their families, and their communities make reading Diverse a regular habit.

A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics