Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Moving In, Moving On

Moving In, Moving On

Dr. Eileen Wilson-Oyelaran is named president of Kalamazoo College in Michigan. Previously she was dean and vice president at Salem College in North Carolina.

Dr. John T. Gibson, president of Alabama A&M University, resigns amid a string of controversies.

Dr. James R. Gavin III, president of Morehouse School of Medicine, is dismissed as the school’s  accreditation date draws near.

Dr. Jimmy Jenkins, president of Edward Waters College, resigns in February following a plagiarism scandal.

Dr. Ernest Holloway, president of Langston University, retires after 25 years of leading the historically Black university in Oklahoma.

Dr. Marie V. McDemmond, president of Norfolk State University, resigns for health reasons.

Dr. Melvin N. Johnson, a former Winston-Salem State University provost, takes over as president of Tennessee State University, succeeding Dr. James Hefner.

Dr. Sharon P. Robinson, a former executive of the Educational Testing Service, is named president and CEO of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

Dr. Portia Holmes Shields retires as president of Albany State University in Georgia after nine years.

Dr. Everette J. Freeman, former senior vice president and provost at the University of Indianapolis, is named her successor.

Jacquelyn M. Belcher retires as president of Georgia Perimeter College after 10 years.

Dr. Belle S. Wheelan, secretary of education for the Commonwealth of Virginia, is named president of the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.

University of Chicago President Don M. Randel announces his resignation to become president of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, which awards grants in fields including higher education and art conservation, effective July 2006.

Conrad K. Harper, a member of Harvard’s top governing board, resigns over a proposed raise for university president Dr. Lawrence H. Summers. In addition, Harper also cites his dissatisfaction with Summers’ leadership, including the Harvard president’s controversial comments about women’s aptitude for science and math, as a reason for his resignation. Harper, who is Black, was the only minority on the board at the time.

Dr. Barbara Hatton, president of historically Black Knoxville College, was fired in August amid utility cutoffs and claims the faculty hadn’t been paid.

Dr. Calvin W. Lowe, president of Bowie State University in Maryland, announces he will resign at the end of the academic year, after “having achieved most of my personal and professional goals at BSU.”

Dr. Oscar L. Prater is named president of Talladega College in Alabama.

Dr. Peter McPherson is named president of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges effective Jan. 1.

Dr. Gloria Bromell-Tinubu resigns as president of Barber-Scotia College in North Carolina after a little more than a year on the job.

© Copyright 2005 by

A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics