Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Proposed pay changes for ND college presidents

Proposed changes to the North Dakota University System’s compensation policy for college presidents. A Board of Higher Education subcommittee agreed to the overhaul Tuesday, and they will be presented to the full board during its meeting at Minot State University on Thursday.

PRESIDENT SALARIES AT FOUR-YEAR SCHOOLS: UND President Charles Kupchella and NDSU President Joseph Chapman are paid $211,686 annually. Minot State University President David Fuller is paid $156,280; Dickinson State University president Lee Vickers is paid $157,915; Valley City State University President Ellen Chaffee is paid $152,845; and Mayville State University President Gary Hagen is paid $138,000.

PROPOSED CHANGES: William Goetz, chancellor of North Dakota’s university system, is recommending base annual pay of $300,000 to $325,000 for the presidents of the University of North Dakota and North Dakota State University; $175,000 to $190,000 for the president of Minot State University; and $155,000 to $175,000 for the presidents of Dickinson State University, Valley City State University and Mayville State University.

SALARY SUPPLEMENTS: Additional payments must be disclosed to the Board of Higher Education and paid through the state university system. The UND and NDSU foundations now provide supplemental compensation for Presidents Kupchella and Chapman.

PRESIDENT SALARIES AT TWO-YEAR SCHOOLS: Bismarck State College President Larry Skogen is paid $126,000 annually; John Richman, the president of the North Dakota College of Science, is paid $134,000; Lake Region State College President Sharon Etemad is paid $124,810; and Williston State College President Joseph McCann is paid $117,231.

PROPOSED CHANGES: Goetz is recommending $140,000 to $160,000 annual salaries for the presidents of Bismarck State, Lake Region State, Williston State and the College of Science. Minot State’s president would continue to set the salary of the executive dean of Minot State University’s Bottineau branch.

HOUSING: UND, NDSU and Dickinson State provide homes for their university presidents. Minot State, Valley City State, Lake Region State and Williston State provide $20,000 annual housing allowances. Bismarck State College provides a $10,000 housing allowance. The presidents of the North Dakota State College of Science and Mayville State University do not get housing stipends.

PROPOSED CHANGES: The UND, NDSU and Dickinson circumstances would not change. Housing allowances would continue for the presidents of other four-year schools, although they could opt to include the money in their regular salaries. The current presidents of North Dakota’s two-year colleges may keep their housing allowances but the stipends will not be offered to newly hired presidents.

VEHICLE ALLOWANCES: All of North Dakota’s college presidents get vehicle allowances of $11,000 annually.

PROPOSED CHANGE: Incumbent presidents may keep the annual vehicle allowance for as long as they serve. Their successors will be paid mileage reimbursement if they use their personal vehicles on school business.

CONTRACTS: Some of North Dakota’s college presidents have perpetual three-year contracts, which means that once a year of the contract has been completed, another year is added to the end of the contract’s term. If a president is dismissed, buyout terms are negotiated individually.

PROPOSED CHANGE: Presidents may be hired for fixed three-year contracts, and may get extensions for as long as five years. If a president is dismissed, he or she will be paid salary and benefits for half the time left on the contract for example, one year’s worth of compensation if there are two years left on the contract.

– Associated Press

© Copyright 2005 by

The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers