Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Professional Appointments

Jones to Lead Community College Baltimore County-Catonsville

Dr. Andrew C. Jones has been named president at the Community College of Baltimore County-Catonsville. Previously, he was executive vice president for academic and student affairs at Cedar Valley College in Lancaster, Texas. Jones earned a bachelor’s in economics and a master’s in library science, both, from the University of Maryland; and a doctorate in education from Temple University.

Kendrick to Lead Gateway Community-Technical College

Dr. Dorsey Kendrick has been selected as the next president of Gateway Community-Technical College in New Haven, Conn. Most recently, she was executive vice president at Milwaukee Area Technical College. Kendrick earned a bachelor’s in business administration from Union University in Tennessee, a master’s in business management from Cardinal Stritch University in Wisconsin, and a doctorate in higher education administration from Walden University in Minnesota.

Phillip D. Adams has been appointed chief advancement officer at LeMoyne-Owen College in Memphis, Tenn., after having served as interim for one year. Adams earned a bachelor’s in human resource administration from St.Leo’s College in Florida and a master’s in human resource management from Golden Gate College in California. 

Dr. Reginald F. Davis has been named dean of students at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary in Illinois. He recently served as pastor of Antioch Missionary Baptist Church in Perry, Fla., and as an adjunct professor at Florida A&M University. Davis earned an associate’s in business administration from Shelby Community College in Tennessee, a bachelor’s in speech communication from Incarnate Word College in Texas, a master’s of divinity from Colgate Rochester Divinity School, and a doctorate in humanities from Florida State University.

Dr. Christine Johnson McPhail has been named chairwoman of a new concentration in community college leadership to expand the already existing doctoral program in urban educational leadership at Morgan State University. She was president of Cypress College in Southern California. McPhail earned a bachelor’s in social work and a master’s in counseling psychology, both from California State University-Fresno, and a doctorate in higher education administration from the University of Southern California. 

Rosalyn Lake is the new director of development at Wilberforce University in Ohio. Lake has worked as director of corporate and annual giving at Wilberforce, but most recently, she was a community relations specialist at the Reynolds & Reynolds Co. in Dayton, Ohio. Lake holds a bachelor’s in psychology from Wright State University; and a master’s in administration from Central Michigan University.

Glinda Rawls is the new assistant director of multicultural life at Hope College in Holland, Mich. She previously held a variety of positions while pursuing her master’s, including assistant in academic advising and student services and assistant residence hall director. Rawls earned a bachelor’s in communication from DePaul University (Ill.); and a master’s in education with emphasis on college student affairs leadership from Grand Valley State University.


Dr. Charles L. Curry, the Johnson B. Johnson professor of medicine and chief of the division of cardiovascular diseases at Howard University Hospital, has been given the American Heart Association’s 1999 Physician of the Year award. Curry earned a bachelor’s in chemistry, magna cum laude, from Johnson C. Smith University and a doctor of medicine degree from Howard University.


© Copyright 2005 by

The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers