Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

A Year in Review: Moving In, Moving On

Moving In, Moving OnAfter leading Shaw University in Raleigh, N.C., for 15 years, Dr. Talbert O. Shaw retired in March. Dr. Clarence G. Newsome, a longtime dean of Howard University’s School of Divinity, became the historically Black university’s 13th president. Dr. France A. Córdova, a former NASA chief scientist, became the first Hispanic woman to lead a University of California campus. Córdova was sworn in as chancellor of UC-Riverside in March. Dr. Sybil Mobley, founding dean of Florida A&M University’s School of Business and Industry, retired in June. Mobley arrived at FAMU in 1963 and transformed the school’s undergraduate business course into a five-year MBA program that no other institution offered. Mobley is recognized as a trailblazer in business education.Dr. T.J. Bryan was named the new chancellor at Fayetteville State University, making her the first African American woman to head a state university in North Carolina.Dr. Bernard Franklin, president of Virginia Union University, resigned to take a job as senior vice president for governance and membership with the National Collegiate Athletic Association. Franklin had been president of Virginia Union since 1999. After more than two decades as president and CEO of the United Negro College Fund, Dr. William H. Gray announced that he will retire in March 2004. Gray, who joined UNCF in 1991, will have raised more than $1.54 billion for the organization, accounting for approximately 70 percent of the more than $2.2 billion that has been raised over UNCF’s 60-year history. Dr. Livingston Alexander was named president of the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford. Previously, Alexander was provost and vice president for academic affairs at Kean University in New Jersey. After seven years as president of Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, Dr. W. Clinton Pettus announced he will retire effective Dec. 31. Appointed president in July 1996, Pettus made significant changes such as increasing student enrollment and creating the Keystone Honors Academy for academically talented students. Dr. Carolynn Reid-Wallace, president of Nashville’s Fisk University, resigned in October. Reid-Wallace, who was named president of Fisk in 2001, was the university’s first female president. The Fisk University board of trustees has named a three-person administrative team to oversee the university until an acting president is named. Dr. Rufus Glasper is the new chancellor of the Maricopa Community Colleges in Arizona. Previously, he was the executive vice chancellor for human resources and administration. Dr. Gloria Bromell-Tinubu has been appointed the new president of Bethune-Cookman College. Bromell-Tinubu, an economics professor at Spelman College, will succeed Dr. Oswald P. Bronson Sr., the president since 1975 who will retire June 30, 2004. Dr. Adam Herbert was named president of Indiana University, making him the first African American to hold the post.

Continued at Legal/ Political Matters

© Copyright 2005 by

The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers