Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Several Scholars Named MacArthur Fellows

Historian, computer scientist, neurobiologist among the recipients of the $500,000 grant

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation named 25 new MacArthur Fellows for 2005. Each received a phone call from the Foundation informing them that they will be given $500,000 in β€œno strings attached” support over the next five years.

MacArthur Fellows are selected for their creativity, originality and potential. By providing resources without stipulations or reporting requirements, the MacArthur Foundation offers the opportunity for fellows to accelerate their current activities or take their work in new directions. The unusual level of independence afforded to the fellows underscores the spirit of freedom intrinsic to creative endeavors.
β€œThe call can be life-changing, coming as it does out of the blue and offering highly creative women and men the gift of time and the unfettered opportunity to explore, create and contribute,” says Dr. Jonathan F. Fanton, president of the MacArthur Foundation.
Some of the academic recipients this year include:

– Dr. Terry Belanger, university professor and honorary curator of special collections, University of Virginia β€” rare book preservationist;

– Dr. Lu Chen, assistant professor of neurobiology, University of California/Berkeley β€” neuroscientist;

– Dr. Claire Gmachl, associate professor of electrical engineering, Princeton University β€” laser technologist;

– Dr. Sue Goldie, associate professor of health decision science, Harvard University School of Public Health β€” physician/ researcher;

– Dr. Steven Goodman, field biologist, department of zoology, The Field Museum of Natural History Chicago β€” Madagascar conservation biologist;

– Dr. Nicole King, assistant professor of molecular and cell biology, University of California, Berkeley β€” molecular biologist;

– Dr. Jon Kleinberg, professor of computer science, Cornell University β€” computer scientist;

– Dr. Pehr Harbury, associate professor of biochemistry, Stanford University β€” biochemist ;

– Dr. Michael Manga, associate professor of earth and planetary science, University of California, Berkeley β€” geophysicist;

– Dr. Todd Martinez, professor of chemistry, University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign β€” theoretical chemist; 

– Dr. Kevin M. Murphy, George J. Stigler Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago Graduate School of Business β€” economist;

– Dr. Olufunmilayo F. Olopade, professor of medicine, University of Chicago Hospitals β€” clinician/researcher; and 

– Dr. Emily Thompson, associate professor of history, University of California, San Diego β€” aural historian.

β€œFor the past 25 years, each announcement of new MacArthur Fellows has been an opportunity to recognize the critical role played in society by highly creative people working across a wide spectrum of activity,” says Fanton. β€œMacArthur Fellows reveal the wonders of the natural world, inspire us with their original thoughts and writing and offer important new approaches for addressing significant social challenges on local, national and global scales. Through our support of these 25 remarkable people, we seek to foster their future creative works, as well as to highlight the potential of the individual in shaping a better future for us all.”

The inaugural class of MacArthur Fellows was named in 1981. Including this year’s Fellows, 707 scholars, ranging in age from 18 to 82, have been named MacArthur Fellows since the inception of the program. 

Β© Copyright 2005 by

The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers