Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Diverse: Issues In Higher Education highlights 35 outstanding women during Women’s History Month


Maya Matthews Minter
[email protected]
Direct line: 703.385.2411

FAIRFAX, Va. — In honor of Women’s History Month, Diverse will publish its ninth annual special report recognizing the contributions of women to higher education.

To be circulated at several annual higher education meetings, the March 19, 2020 edition will highlight 35 women who have made a difference in the academy by tackling some of higher education’s toughest challenges, exhibiting extraordinary leadership skills and making a positive difference in their respective communities.

The 2020 class of leading women in higher education will be (in alphabetical order):

  1. Dr. Mamta Accapadi, Vice President for Student Affairs, Rollins College
  2. Dr. Irma Becerra, President, Marymount University
  3. Dr. Estela Bensimon, Professor of Higher Education, University of Southern California
  4. Dr. Martha Biondi, Chair, Department of African American Studies; Lorraine H. Morton Professor of African American Studies; Professor of History, Northwestern University
  5. Dr. Aileen Bumphus, Associate Vice President, University of Texas at Austin
  6. Dr. Bridget F. Burns, Executive Director, University Innovation Alliance
  7. Dr. Sylvia Carey-Butler, Chief Diversity Officer, Kennesaw State University
  8. Dr. Soyica Diggs Colbert, Idol Family Professor of the College of Arts and Sciences, Georgetown University
  9. Ms. Shauna Davis, Executive Director of Holistic Student Supports, Achieving the Dream
  10. Dr. Carol L. Folt, President, University of Southern California
  11. Dr. Leslie Gonzales, Associate Professor in the Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Learning Unit, Michigan State University
  12. Dr. Eloisa Gordon-Mora, University Diversity and Inclusion Officer, University of Nevada, Reno
  13. Dr. Christina M. Greer, Associate Professor of Political Science, Fordham University
  14. Ms. Emily M.S. Houh, Gustavus Henry Wald Professor of the Law and Contracts;
    Co-director, Center for Race, Gender, and Social Justice, University of Cincinnati College of Law
  15. Ms. Stancia Jenkins, Assistant Vice President for Diversity, Access and Inclusion; Associate to the President, University of Nebraska
  16. Dr. Martha Jones, Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor and Professor of History, Johns Hopkins University
  17. Mayor Sharon Pratt, Director of the Institute of Politics Policy and History, University of District Columbia
  18. Eda Davis Lowe, Assistant Vice President, Educational Partnerships, Valencia College
  19. aretha faye marbley, Professor and Director of Community Counseling in Counselor Education, Texas Tech
  20. Dr. Deb Mashek, Executive Director, Heterodox Academy
  21. Dr. Tia Brown McNair, Vice President, Office of Diversity, Equity and Student Success, Association of American Colleges and Universities
  22. Ms. Jacqie McWilliams, Commissioner, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
  23. Dr. Sara Moore, Assistant Professor and Health Disparity Researcher, Salem State University
  24. Dr. Alondra Nelson, President; Harold F. Linder Chair, Social Science Research Council; Institute for Advanced Study
  25. Dr. Harriet B. Nembhard, School Head, Eric R. Smith Professor of Engineering, Oregon State University
  26. Dr. Marcine Pickron-Davis, Chief Diversity and Community Relations Officer, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
  27. Dr. DeLaine Priest, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success and Advising, University of Central Florida
  28. Dr. Virginia Roach, Dean of the Graduate School of Education, Fordham University
  29. Dr. Katherine Rowe, President, William & Mary
  30. Dr. Vanessa Sansone, Assistant Professor of Higher Education in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, University of Texas at San Antonio
  31. Dr. Heather Shotton, Associate Professor and Director of Indigenous Education Initiatives, University of Oklahoma
  32. Dr. Mariko Silver, President and CEO, Henry Luce Foundation
  33. Dr. Nicole R. Stokes, Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; Distinguished Full Professor, Saint Joseph’s University
  34. Dr. Erika A. Taylor, Associate Professor of Chemistry; Director of McNair Program, Wesleyan University
  35. Ms. Andrea Williams, Chief Operating Officer, College Football Playoff
For more than three decades, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education has been America’s premier source of timely news, provocative commentary, insightful interviews and in-depth special reports on diversity in higher education. Savvy individuals who appreciate the crucial and ever-changing role that higher education plays in the lives of students, professionals, their families and their communities make reading Diverse a regular habit.
The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers