Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report to be published on April 28, 2022 —Finalists Announced

For Immediate Release
March 25, 2022
Contact: Ralph Newell

Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report to be published on April 28, 2022 —
Finalists Announced   

FAIRFAX, Va.Diverse: Issues In Higher Education magazine is pleased to announce the 2022 Arthur Ashe Jr. finalists for Male and Female Athlete of the Year.Male Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  • Nakobe Dean, University of Georgia, Football
  • Aaron Mateo Olmos, Oregon State University, Wrestling       
  • Shea Pitts, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), Football

Female Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  • Bryanna Brown, Lincoln University, Basketball     
  • Sophie Jaques, Ohio State University, Ice Hockey   
  • Ivana Shah, University of Akron, Golf

As the name denotes, the annual Ashe edition is a part of our quarter-century legacy of recognizing outstanding minority young men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits.In addition to their athletic ability, students named Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5, be at least a sophomore academically, and be active on their campuses or in their communities. In addition to naming a Male and Female Sports Scholar of the Year, winners in each individual sport category are also selected for the annual Ashe edition.This year’s Sports Winners are (in alphabetical order by sport):

  • Breonn Pooler, Alabama State University, Baseball                      
  • Jordan Wright, Vanderbilt University, Basketball (M)                    
  • Natalie Chou, UCLA, Basketball (W)                
  • Bailey Hatchett, Georgia State University, Beach Volleyball (W)             
  • Natalia Miranda Vega, Morgan State University, Bowling (W)                  
  • Barakah Hassell, Xavier University of Louisiana, Cheerleading (W)
  • Aidan Spencer, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Crew & Rowing (M)                    
  • Shelly Sclater, University of Miami, Crew & Rowing (W)                
  • Carlye Kennedy, Oklahoma State University, Dance (W)              
  • Kelly Harper, Oklahoma State University, Equestrian (W)            
  • Andrew Sledeski, New York University (NYU), Fencing (M)                     
  • Sarah Yoohyun Park, Temple University, Fencing (W)                  
  • Mia Gordon, Miami University, Field Hockey                        
  • Nakobe Dean, University of Georgia, Football                     
  • David Puig, Arizona State University, Golf (M)                     
  • Ivana Shah, University of Akron, Golf (W)                 
  • Donovan Hewitt, Ohio State University, Gymnastics (M)              
  • Samantha Sakti, UCLA, Gymnastics (W)                    
  • Sophie Jaques, Ohio State University, Ice Hockey (W)                 
  • Jeremiah Eaton, Wabash College, Lacrosse (M)                 
  • Carson Pearson, Kennesaw State University, Lacrosse (W)                    
  • Aaron Tsuchitori, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Sailing (M)                     
  • Pablo Vargas, NYU, Soccer (M)             
  • Cecily Stoute, University of Georgia, Soccer (W)                 
  • Kinsley Washington, UCLA, Softball               
  • Jacob Haines, NYU, Swimming & Diving (M)             
  • Jenna Sanchez, Pepperdine University, Swimming & Diving (W)           
  • Paula Luis, Ohio State University, Synchronized Swimming (W)                       
  • Andrei Duarte, Georgia State University, Tennis (M)                      
  • Lindsey Dixon, Xavier University of Louisiana, Tennis (W)                      
  • Tyler Johnson, Ohio State University, Track & Field (M)             
  • Gabriela Leon, University of Louisville, Track & Field (W)           
  • Parker Mikesch, Ohio State University, Volleyball (M)                   
  • Logan Eggleston, University of Texas at Austin, Volleyball (W)             
  • Georgia Vargas, Siena College, Water Polo (W)
  • Aaron Mateo Olmos, Oregon State University, Wrestling 

Past Ashe scholars include Baylor University’s Robert Griffin III (2011); the University of Tennessee’s Kara Lawson (2003); San Diego State University’s Marshall Faulk (1993); and Stanford University’s Simone Manuel (2017) — a four-time Olympic medalist — just to name a few who have gone on to achieve great success.2022 Ashe Scholars competing in this year’s March Madness tournament include Chase Martin, Purdue University; Benjamin Bosmans-Verdonk, Illinois; and Rod Thomas, Murray State on the men’s side. And on the women’s side, Mariah White (*), Missouri State; Deja Church, DePaul; Tamia Davis, Charlotte; Joanne Allen-Taylor, Texas; Olivia Owens, Kentucky; Genesis Bryant, Raina Perez, Camille Hobby, and Kendal Moore, North Carolina State; Tyra Cox and Kerstie Phills, Florida Gulf Coast; Madison Scott and Jacorriah Bracey, Mississippi; Mar Tejedor, Tara Cousins, and Ty Battle, Delaware; Kianna Smith, Ahlana Smith, and Merissah Russell, Louisville; Araion Bradshaw, Dayton; and Alexandra Zelaya, North Carolina.

*Mariah White was the 2021 Female Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar of the Year. She won the award while attending Cleveland State University.

The 2022 Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sports Scholar of the Year will be announced prior to the April 28th publication date.

Published since 1984, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education is the nation’s only biweekly newsmagazine dedicated exclusively to diversity issues in higher education. Visit us daily online at