Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report to be published April 27, 2023 — 20 Semifinalists Announced


Contact: Ralph Newell
[email protected]

Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report to be published April 27, 2023 — 20 Semifinalists Announced

FAIRFAX, VA (March 10, 2023) — On April 27, 2023, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education will publish its annual Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report edition.

As the name denotes, this edition is part of our decades-long tradition of recognizing outstanding, young minority men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits.

In addition to their athletic ability, students named 2023 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars are students of color who have maintained at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, are at least sophomores academically, and have been active on their campuses or in their communities. Of the nearly 1,000 scholar-athletes nominated, one male and one female athlete will be selected as Sports Scholar of the Year.

The top women (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Sydni Black, Loyola University Maryland, Lacrosse
  • Kristin Boos, DePaul University, Soccer
  • Kaira Brown, Vanderbilt University, Track/Cross Country
  • Lauren DeVaney, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Basketball
  • Camber Hayes, Miami University, Soccer
  • Julie Kouijzer, University of Louisville, Field Hockey
  • Ashley Linares, Felician University, Track/Cross Country
  • Madesyn Ronquillio, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Swimming & Diving
  • Kelly Ryono, University of Illinois, Softball
  • Stella Wiesemann, The George Washington University, Tennis

The top men (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Alvaro Alonso-Sanchez, Wabash College, Tennis
  • Braelen Bridges, University of Georgia, Basketball
  • Kobe Brown, University of Missouri, Basketball
  • Elijah Green, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Football
  • Chase Griffin, UCLA, Football
  • JoVoni Johnson-McCray, Rice University, Football
  • Micaylon Moore, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, Track/Cross Country
  • Taj Salawu, College of the Holy Cross, Soccer
  • Reis Thomas, Wabash College, Track/Cross Country
  • Lyle Yost, The Ohio State University, Swimming & Diving

The 2022 overall winners were Nakobe Dean from the University of Georgia and Sophie Jaques from The Ohio State University. Other past Arthur Ashe scholars have included the University of Wisconsin’s Russell Wilson (2011); the University of Tennessee’s Kara Lawson (2003); San Diego State University’s Marshall Faulk (1993); and Stanford University’s Simone Manuel (2017), just to name a few who have gone on to achieve great success.

This year’s finalists and the winners from each sport category nominated will be announced prior to the April 27, 2023, edition.

For nearly four decades, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education has been America’s premier source of timely news, provocative commentary, insightful interviews, and in-depth special reports on diversity in higher education. Savvy individuals who appreciate the crucial and ever-changing role higher education plays in the lives of student and professionals, and their families and communities, make reading Diverse an enduring habit.

The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers