Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars Special Report to be Published April 25 - 20 Semifinalists Announced

For Immediate Release
Contact: Ralph Newell
[email protected] 

2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars Special Report to be Published April 25

20 Semifinalists Announced

FAIRFAX, VA (March 15, 2024) — Diverse: Issues In Higher Educationwill release its annual Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars special report edition on April 25.

The edition is part of our decades-long tradition of recognizing outstanding, young minority men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits.

In addition to their athletic ability, those named 2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars are students of color who have maintained at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, are at least sophomores academically, and have been active on their campuses or in their communities. Of the nearly 600 scholar-athletes nominated, one male and one female athlete will be selected as Sports Scholar of the Year.

The top women (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Gabi Albiero, University of Louisville, swimming and diving
  • Jacqueline Azevedo, University of California, Merced, water polo
  • Elizabeth Cruz, The George Washington University, soccer
  • Vanessa Deniz, University of Georgia, gymnastics
  • Natasha Kim, Indiana University, soccer
  • Charlisse Leger-Walker, Washington State University, basketball
  • McKenzie Long, University of Mississippi, track/cross country
  • Ana Morett, Weber State University, tennis
  • Madison Scott, University of Mississippi, basketball
  • Olivia Womack, University of Mississippi, track/cross country

The top men (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Marcus Caldeira, West Virginia University, soccer
  • Myles Collins, Georgia Institute of Technology, track/cross country
  • Ashton Gillotte, University of Louisville, football
  • Chase Griffin, UCLA, football
  • Dillon Jones, Weber State University, basketball
  • Clifford Omoruyi, Rutgers University - New Brunswick, basketball
  • Darius Robinson, University of Missouri, football
  • Jacori Teemer, Arizona State University, wrestling
  • Job Trahan, Duke University, track/cross country
  • Tyler Williamson, Holy Cross, crew/men’s rowing

The 2023 overall winners were Lyle Yost from The Ohio State University and Camber Hayes of Miami University. Other past Arthur Ashe Scholars have included the University of Wisconsin’s Russell Wilson (2011), the University of Tennessee’s Kara Lawson (2003), San Diego State University’s Marshall Faulk (1993), and Stanford University’s Simone Manuel (2017), to name a few who have gone on to achieve great success.

This year’s finalists and the winners from each sport category nominated will be announced prior to the April 25 edition.


For 40 years Diverse: Issues In Higher Education has been America’s premier source of timely news, provocative commentary, insightful interviews, and in-depth special reports on diversity in higher education. Savvy individuals who appreciate the crucial and ever-changing role higher education plays in the lives of students and professionals, and their families and communities, make reading Diverse an enduring habit.


The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers