Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Announcing the 2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Male and Female Sports Scholar of the Year

For Immediate Release
March 26, 2024
Contact: Ralph Newell
[email protected]

Announcing the 2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Male and Female Sports Scholar  of the Year

FAIRFAX, Va. — Diverse: Issues In Higher Education magazine is pleased to announce the 2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Male and Female Sports Scholar of the Year.

2024 Male Winner: Darius Robinson, University of Missouri, football

  • Myles Collins, Georgia Institute of Technology, track/cross country (1st Runner Up)
  • Chase Griffin, UCLA, football (2nd Runner Up)
  • Marcus Caldeira, West Virginia University, soccer (3rd Runner Up)

2024 Female Winner: Olivia Womack, University of Mississippi,  track/cross country

  • Gabi Albiero, University of Louisville, swimming and diving (1st Runner Up)
  • Charlisse Leger-Walker, Washington State University, basketball (2nd Runner Up)
  • Madison Scott, University of Mississippi, basketball (3rd Runner Up)

As the name denotes, the annual Arthur Ashe edition is part of our magazine’s over a quarter-century legacy of recognizing young, outstanding minority men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits.

Student-athletes named Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars must maintain a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5, be at least a sophomore academically, and be active on their campuses or in their communities.

Of the nearly 600 scholar athletes nominated, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education has named Robinson and Womack the 2024 Arthur Ashe Jr. Male and Female Sports Scholar of the Year for best exemplifying the standards of scholarship, athleticism, and humanitarianism.

Robinson, a Master of Education student, has been a team captain and a standout player on the University of Missouri football team. He was named All-SEC and AP SEC First Team in 2023, he has also been recognized as a two-time SEC Defensive Lineman of the Week. 

Off the field, his community projects with local schools have been numerous; the Columbia (Missouri) branch of the NAACP  recently recognized him with the appreciation award for community service. Robinson established the Darius Robinson Helping Hands Foundation in the fall of 2023. His foundation has been responsible for a back-to-school drive and fundraising efforts that supported two local families during the holiday season.

Womack, a senior majoring in legal studies, is a sprinter in track and field at the University of Mississippi. As a three-time All-American, two-time NCAA East Region qualifier, and two-time SEC Scorer, she has run on four of the eight fastest 4x100 meter relay times ever at Ole Miss.

Off-the-track community service is a huge part of Womack’s life. In her local community, she has volunteered in literacy programs, food drives, water bottle collection, and preparation of holiday gift baskets to help those in need during the holiday season. She participated in the Tim Tebow Foundation prom night event to support those with disabilities, and supported the university’s Black Faculty and Staff Organization members in collection of new books and stuffed bears to donate to the families of Ole Miss Facility employees.

Both athletes balance community service and the rigors of top-tier NCAA intercollegiate play with academic achievement at the highest level — they will be profiled in the April 25 edition of Diverse.

Other information:

 Past Ashe Scholars have included the University of Wisconsin’s Russell Wilson (2011), the University of Tennessee’s Kara Lawson (2003), San Diego State University’s Marshall Faulk (1993), and Stanford University’s Simone Manuel (2017), to name a few who have gone on to achieve great success.

Always contending at the highest levels, six Ashe scholars competed in this year’s March Madness NCAA Basketball Tournament — Jeff Grace III of Nebraska, Nate Santos of Dayton, and LJ Thomas of North Carolina State, on the men’s side, as well as Ashlyn Zhang of Rice and Madison Scott (2024 Ashe 3rd Runner Up) and Elauna Eaton, both of Ole Miss, on the women’s side.

Published since 1984, Diverse: Issues In Higher Education is the nation’s only daily online and triweekly print and digital newsmagazine dedicated exclusively to diversity issues in higher education. Visit us online and subscribe at


The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers