Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Professional Appointments


ReNee Dunman, Esq., has been appointed director of Old Dominion University’s Office of Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action. He has worked in the office as acting director, EO coordinator, and EO manager. Dunman earned a bachelor’s degree in mass communications from Virginia Commonwealth University; a master’s degree in communications from Norfolk State University; and doctor of jurisprudence degree from the University of Baltimore.

Felicia James Scott has been named director of the department of multicultural services at Texas A&M University. Previously, she was interim director. Scott earned a bachelor’s and master’s degrees in agricultural education, both from Texas A&M University.

Dr. Robert R. Vaughn has been selected to be the new director of continuing education at the Annandale campus of Northern Virginia Community College. Formerly, he was director of continuing education for the Newport News, Va., public schools. Vaughn earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Nebraska; a master’s degree in adult education from George Washington University; and a doctorate in educational administration from Vanderbilt University.

Hilton Young is the new president of the
University of Georgia National alumni association. Young, is president of a Nationwide insurance agency in Athens and serves on the university’s minority affairs committee. Young earned a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of Georgia.







Dwayne Ashley has been named executive director of the New York Office of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund. The fund awards four year merit scholarships to students who attend the nations 38 historically Black public colleges and universities. Ashley’s career includes service as a fundraiser with the United Way of the Texas Gulf Coast and The College Fund/UNCF.  Ashley earned a bachelor’s degree in business from Wiley College, and a master’s degree in governmental administration  from the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. David Johnson, a professor in the sociology and social department at North Carolina A&T State University, is the new president of the Southern Anthropological Society for 1999-2000. Johnson earned a bachelor’s degree in anthropology from Hamilton College; and master’s and doctorate degrees in anthropology, both from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

Patricia A. Moss has been elected to serve a six-year term representing subdistrict 2 on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees. She is a field representative for the St. Louis Teachers and School Related Personnel Union. Moss attended St. Louis Community College Florissant Valley campus.


Bill Dickey, president and founder of the National Minority Junior Golf Scholarship Association, has been selected to receive the 1999 PGA (Professional Golfers Association of America)Distinguished Service Award. Since its inception, the NMJGSA has awarded more than $900,000 to nearly 600 college students. Dickey attended Virginia Union University on a football scholarship before entering the U.S. Airforce. He later earned a bachelor’s degree in economics from Arizona State University. 

© Copyright 2005 by

A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics