Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

2004 Commencement Speakers

2004 Commencement Speakers

•Ashland University (Ohio)
 Robert C. Springer
 Colonel, United States Marine Corps, retired NASA astronaut director 

•Bennett College (N.C.)
 Gwendolyn E. Boyd
 National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 

•Bucknell University (Pa.)
 Ralph Nader
 Consumer advocate, lawyer, author and presidential candidate 

•California State University – Fullerton
 Susan Elizabeth George
 Educator, novelist and founder of the Elizabeth George Foundation 

•Cameron University
 Linda Wertheimer
 Senior National Public Radio correspondent and former host of “All Things Considered.” 

•Case Western Reserve
 University (Ohio)
 Elie Wiesel
 Holocaust survivor, author, teacher and storyteller; recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, Presidential Medal of Freedom and the United States Congressional Gold Medal 

•Claremont Graduate
 University (Calif.)
 John Seely Brown
 Vice president and chief scientist of Xerox Corporation, and director of the Xerox Palo Alto Research Center 

•Clark University (Mass.)
 The Honorable Margaret Marshall
 Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts 
•Colgate University (N.Y.)
 Steve Burke
 President of Comcast Cable and a Colgate University alumnus 

•Duke University (N.C.)
 Madeleine Albright
 Former U.S. Secretary of State 

•Emory University (Ga.)
 Mary Robinson
 Advocate of universal respect for fundamental rights and freedoms; Ireland’s first woman president; United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights; Harvard Law fellow; Winston Churchill Medalist
•Oxford College of
 Emory University
 Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum
  President, Spelman College
•Grinnell College (Iowa)
 Dr. William F. Schulz
  Executive director of Amnesty
 International USA
•Hampden-Sydney College (Va.)
  Dr. J. Alfred Broaddus Jr.
  President of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
•Harvard University (Mass.)
  Kofi Annan
  Secretary General of the United Nations and Nobel Peace Prize winner 

•Ithaca College (N.Y.)
 Scott Hamilton
 Olympic figure skater and cancer survivor 
•Lewis and Clark College (Ore.)
  Dr. Anthony Fauci
  Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), National Institutes of Health 

•Liberty University (Va.)
 Karl Rove
 Senior adviser to the president of the United States 

•Morehouse College (Ga.)
 Dr. William (Bill) Cosby
 Educator, entertainer and philanthropist 

•New England College (N.H.)
 Carol Moseley Braun
 Former democratic presidential contender; first and only African American woman elected to the U.S. Senate; former legislator in the Illinois House of Representatives 
•New York Law School
 Alexis Herman
 Chair and CEO of New Ventures, Inc. and former U.S. Secretary of Labor 

•North Carolina A&T
 State University
  James Earl Jones
  Award-winning actor 

•Northwestern University (Ill.)
 Tom Brokaw
 Award-winning television news anchor and managing editor of
“NBC Nightly News” 

•Ohio University
 (graduate exercises)
 Morgan L. Vis
 Associate professor of environmental and plant biology 

•Oregon State University
 John H. Glenn
  Former senator and astronaut 

•Pennsylvania State University
 (Great Valley)
 Juan Johnson
 Vice President, the Coca Cola Company

•Rensselaer Polytechnic   
 Institute (N.Y.)
 Dr. Robert Metcalfe
 Internet pioneer, invented Ethernet networking 

•Roanoke College (Va.)
 Sean Burch
 Extreme fitness instructor and mountaineer, conquered Mount Everest without using oxygen

•Rochester Institute of
 Technology (N.Y.)
 Anne M. Mulcahy
 Chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Xerox Corporation 
•Sarah Lawrence College (N.Y.) Grace Paley
 Fiction writer 

•Smith College (Mass.)
 Judy Woodruff
 CNN anchor and senior correspondent 

•Southwestern University (Texas)
 Ernesto Nieto
  Founder of the National Hispanic Institute 

•Spelman College (Ga.)
 Dr. Benjamin Carson
 Director, Pediatric Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

•Stanford University (Calif.)
  Sandra Day O’Connor
 U.S. Supreme Court Justice  

•Syracuse University and
 SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (N.Y.) 
 (joint exercises)
 Phylicia Rashad
 Actress and philanthropist

•Tulane University (La.)
 Senator John Breaux
  Louisiana lawmaker 
•University of California-Berkeley College of Natural Resources
  Paul Hawken
 Environmentalist, entrepreneur, journalist and best-selling author 

•University of Denver (Colo.)
 (Graduate Ceremony)
  Njabulo S. Ndebele
 Vice Chancellor of the University of Cape Town in South Africa
 (Undergraduate Ceremony)
 Richard C. Notebaert
  Chairman and CEO for Qwest Communications International Inc.
•University of Illinois at
 Lani Guinier
  Civil rights attorney, author and
Harvard Law School professor 

•University of
 Ursula M. Burns
 Corporate senior vice president and president, Business Group Operations Xerox Corporation
 Dr. William A. Haseltine
 Chairman and chief executive officer Human Genome Sciences, Inc. 

•University of Michigan,
Gerald R. Ford School of
Public Policy
 Catherine Bertini
 Undersecretary General for Management at the United Nations 

•University of New Hampshire at Manchester
 Bill Richardson
 Governor of New Mexico, former ambassador to the United Nations and Secretary of Energy 
•University of North Carolina –Chapel Hill
 Julius Chambers
 Pioneering civil rights attorney  

•University of North Carolina – Greensboro
 Gov. James B. Hunt Jr.
 Former North Carolina governor 

•University of Notre Dame (Ind.)
 Justice Alan C. Page
 Justice on the Minnesota Supreme Court 
•University of Pennsylvania  Bono
 Activist and lead singer for the musical group U2  

•University of Southern
 Senator John McCain
 Arizona senator and former presidential contender

•University of Southern
 California Law School
 Bruce Karatz
 Chairman and chief executive officer of KB Home, one of the largest homebuilders in the United States and France 
•Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
 Pierre Thomas
  ABC News Justice Department correspondent and Virginia Tech alumnus

  •Wake Forest University (N.C.)
 Colin Powell
 U.S. Secretary of State

•Washington university
in St. Louis
 Thomas L. Friedman
 Three-time individual Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Times 

•Wellesley College (Mass.)
  Toni Morrison
 Nobel Prize-winning author

•Wheaton College (Mass.)
  Mary Robinson
  Advocate of universal respect for fundamental rights and freedoms; Ireland’s first woman president; United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights; Harvard Law fellow; Winston Churchill Medalist
•Winston-Salem State
 University (N.C.)
 Dr. Mae Jemison
 First African American female

•Xavier University (La.)
 Kathleen Babineaux Blanco
  Louisiana governor 

© Copyright 2005 by

A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics