Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Claflin Named HBCU of the Year

071315_universityClaflin University took home HBCU of the year at the AARP HBCU Awards presented by Hampton University July 10.

Claflin bested Florida A&M University, North Carolina Central University, Edward Waters College, Paul Quinn College, Prairie View A&M University and Hampton University for achievement in institutional development and media coverage reflecting those efforts.

Other top winners included Florida A&M’s Dr. Elmira Mangum and Howard University’s Dr. Wayne Frederick for Female and Male President of the Year, respectively.

Though Florida A&M did not win HBCU of the Year, FAMU led the list of winners in all categories—securing awards for alumna of the year (Cecka Rose Green, creator of the “FAMU 10 for 10” alumni giving campaign) and female coach of the year (women’s track and field coach Darlene Moore). Mangum said her recognition was owed to the entire university community.

“I accept this award on behalf of the entire FAMU community,” she said. “The award represents the hard work and dedication of our staff, faculty, board of trustees, alumni and supporters. Without them, I would not be here tonight receiving this award.”

Neither Frederick nor Claflin University President Dr. Henry Tisdale was present at the awards.

Dr. Brian Seymour of Edward Waters College was named faculty member of the year for his work on smoking cessation in minority communities in Jacksonville, Fla. Prairie View A&M communications professor Dr. Amber Johnson was named female faculty member of the year.


Morehouse College’s student newspaper, The Maroon Tiger, won student newspaper of the year, and two of its staffers, public relations director Danyelle R. Carter (Spelman College) and former managing editor Jared Loggins (Morehouse) won the awards for female and male student of the year.

Full list of winners:

Best Marching Band

Alabama State University Mighty Marching Hornets

Best Choir

Morgan State University

Best Student Government Association

Philander Smith College

Best Student Organization

Nashville Student Organizing Committee

Best Student Newspaper

The Maroon Tiger (Morehouse College)

Best Alumni Publication


Best Research Center

Hampton University’s Minority Men’s Health Initiative

Best Fine Arts Program

Virginia State University Department of Art & Design

Best Business Program

Edward Waters Department of Business

Best STEM Program

North Carolina A&T Department of Electrical, Computer Engineering

Best Nursing Program

Southern University

Best School of Social Work

Alabama A&M University Department of Social Work

Male Faculty Member of the Year

Dr. Brian Seymour (Edward Waters College)

Female Faculty Member of the Year

Dr. Amber Johnson (Prairie View A&M University)

Male Coach of the Year

Ed Joyner (Hampton University – men’s basketball)

Female Coach of the Year

Darlene Moore (Florida A&M University – women’s basketball)

Male Athlete of the Year

John Gibbs (Alcorn State University – football)

Female Athlete of the Year

Nour Abbes (Xavier University – tennis)

Men’s Team of the Year

Alcorn State Football

Female Team of the Year

Tennessee State Women’s Basketball

National Alumni Association of the Year

Claflin University

Alumnus of the Year

Michael Jones (Dillard University)

Alumna of the Year

Cecka Rose Green (Florida A&M University)

Male Student of the Year

Jared Loggins (Morehouse College)

Female Student of the Year

Danyelle Carter (Spelman College)

Male President of the Year

Dr. Wayne Frederick (Howard University)

Female President of the Year

Dr. Elmira Mangum (Florida A&M University)

HBCU of the Year

Claflin University


A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics