Murray State Deferring Some Applications from Africa

MURRAY, Ky. ― Murray State University in Kentucky is deferring applications from students in West African countries affected by Ebola until the fall of 2015.

Provost and Vice President Jay Morgan says the school is still accepting applications from Guinea, Sierra Leone and Liberia, but students will not be admitted in January.

Morgan told The Murray Ledger & Times the university has made sure not to plan any study abroad programs for the next six months to a year in any of the three countries.

The university has not traditionally received many applications from the three countries. Morgan says the university is trying to approach international student applications with simple precautions.

Morgan says because Nigeria was recently declared Ebola-free, Nigerian students will be allowed to register for spring classes.