Diverse: Issues In Higher Education sponsors the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Awards to honor students of color who have excelled in the classroom as well as on the athletic field. Inspired by tennis legend Arthur Ashe, Jr.'s commitment to education as well as his love for the game of tennis, U.S. colleges and universities are invited to participate in this annual awards program by nominating their outstanding sports scholars. In addition to their athletic ability and academic performance, Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars demonstrate a commitment to community service and student leadership.

Male Winner

Ryan A. Evans - Basketball (M)

School: University of Wisconsin
Year: 2013
Major: Educational Leadership & Policy Analysis

Female Winner

Jessica N. Harlee - Basketball (W)

School: West Virginia University
Year: 2013
Major: Industrial Engineering

Male Sport Finalists

Twany E. Beckham - Basketball (M)

School: University of Kentucky
Year: 2013
Major: Communication

Laurence R. Bowers - Basketball (M)

School: University of Missouri
Year: 2013
Major: Health Education and Promotion

Joel J. Kight - Football

School: University of Mississippi
Year: 2013
Major: Journalism with Park & Rec Mgmt Minor

Javier N. Balboa - Gymnastics (M)

School: University of Iowa
Year: 2013
Major: Economics

German E. Decena - Football

School: William Paterson University
Year: 2013
Major: Sociology

Devin D. Hedgepeth - Football

School: Oklahoma State University
Year: 2013
Major: Industrial Engineering and Management

Christopher J. Burnette - Football

School: University of Georgia
Year: 2013
Major: Finance

Andrew J. Nunez - Baseball

School: Caldwell
Year: 2013
Major: Management

Female Sport Finalists

Ta’Kenya Nixon - Basketball (W)

School: Eastern Illinois University
Year: 2013
Major: Biological Science

Monique Weathers - Basketball (W)

School: Benedict College
Year: 2013
Major: Economics

Michelle Ikoma - Gymnastics (W)

School: University of North Carolina - Chapel HIll
Year: 2013
Major: Business Administration; Exercise and Sport Science

Shayla J. Bivins - Basketball (W)

School: Georgia Institute of Technology
Year: 2013
Major: Science, Technology, & Culture

Minami K. Yamamura - Gymnastics (W)

School: University of California, Davis
Year: 2013
Major: Neurobiology, Physiology, & Behavior

Kastine E. Evans - Basketball (W)

School: University of Kentucky
Year: 2013
Major: Business Management

Ifeatu I. Okafor - Track/Cross Country (W)

School: Texas Tech University
Year: 2013
Major: Physician Assistant Studies

Alexandra B. Couzo - Soccer (W)

School: Felician College
Year: 2013
Major: Biology-Physical Therapy

More About This Program:

As the name denotes, the annual Ashe edition is part of the magazine’s quarter-century legacy of recognizing young, outstanding minority men and women who have distinguished themselves in their academic and athletic pursuits.

In addition to their athletic ability, students named Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5, be at least a sophomore academically and be active on their campuses or in their communities.

Yousef Elhusseini
Wykeima Davis
Whitney Johnson
Tiffany Patterson
Tiara Johnson
Shaylah Simpson
Shakoya Smith
Reynard Brennan
Rameel Johnson
Nate Bolden
Morgan Boyd
Molly Negrete
Michelle Hundt
Maya Nair
Martin Hehir
Martin Hehir
Lewis Lewis
Levi Randolph
LaShante Grimes
Krystle Schade
Krystal Wells
Kelly Robinson
Kayla Alexander
Kayla Alexander
Joy Burke
Jessica Carswell
Jennifer Jimenez
Jayme Jackson
Jar more Cloud
Jane Fletcher
Janae Fulcher
Hector Linares
Emaray Johnson
Dwayne Layne
DeAngelo Smith
Darreus Wheeler
Darnel Howlett
Daniel Hoyos
Dana Elsasser
Cori Floyd
Constance Ezugha
Constance Ezugha
Chinyere Nnaji
Brittany Jackson
Brian Richards
Booker Hucks
Beatriz Ferreira
Azedine Maazouzi
Aubrielle Wright
Anggie Ramirez
Amber Mitchell
Alyssa Calderon
Alyssa Alvarez
Alyssa Calderon
Alycia Herring
Alexis Dobbs
Alexandria Tran
Alexandra Farley
Alexander Hatem
Albert Faz
Zharde K. Sellona
Wren T. Manly
Whitney J. Jones
Walter N. Cureton
Victoria G. Lark
Victor T. Romero
Van C. Sanderfer
Tyler P. Hilliard
Tyler P. Hilliard
Tristen M. Sharp
Torri M. Allen
Timothy K. Kisang
Tiesha S. Reed
Tia M. Gibbs
Tia M. Rankin
Thomas C. Grimm
Tezira N. Abe
Terae T. Sweeting
Tea N. Vrtlar
Taylor L. Calvert
Taylor L. Woodall
Taylor N. Mills