Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

The following  higher education presidents/chancellors of color have been at their respective two-or four-year institutions for 25 years or more, as long as Diverse, formerly Black Issues in Higher Education, has been published.

African- American Presidents

  • Jack Evans, Southwestern Christian College, since 1967
  • Norman C. Francis, Xavier University, of Louisiana, since 1968
  • Luns C. Richardson, Morris College, since 1974
  • William R. Harvey, Hampton University since 1978
  • Henry Givens Jr., Harris-Stowe State College since 1979
  • James M. Rosser, California State University-Los Angeles, since 1979
  • Charles W. Simmons, Sojourner-Douglass College, since 1980
  • A. Zachary Yamba, Essex County College, since 1980
  • Benjamin F. Payton, Tuskegee University, since 1981
  • George A. Pruitt, Thomas Edison State College, since 1982
  • Earl S. Richardson, Morgan State University, since 1984

Hispanic Presidents

  • Juan B. Nazario-Negrün, American University of Puerto Rico, since 1974
  • Sharon Diaz, Samuel Merritt College, since 1984


American Indian Presidents

  • Lionel Bordeaux, Sinte Gleska University, since 1972
  • David M. Gipp, United Tribes Technical College, since 1977
  • James E. Shanley, Fort Peck Community College since 1984

© Copyright 2005 by

A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics