Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Thurgood Marshall College Fund Welcomes Six New Member Colleges

The Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) has welcomed six historically Black community colleges (HBCC) as new members, all from Alabama. The additions bring the organization’s membership to 53 historically Black colleges and universities (HBCUs).Dr. Harry L. WilliamsDr. Harry L. Williams

The schools include: Bishop State Community College, Drake State Community & Technical College, Gadsden State Community College, Lawson State Community College, Shelton State Community College, and Trenholm State Community College.

“Adding community colleges to our membership is part of an intentional move toward a more inclusive talent strategy," said Dr. Harry L Williams, TMCF's president and CEO. "A four-year degree is one path but not the only path to career success." 

A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics
American sport has always served as a platform for resistance and has been measured and critiqued by how it responds in critical moments of racial and social crises.
Read More
A New Track: Fostering Diversity and Equity in Athletics