Recipients of 2019 AERA Awards for Excellence in Education Research Announced

More than 15 scholars have been announced as recipients of the 2019 American Educational Research Association (AERA) awards for excellence in education research. The association recognized the winners for their scholarship and service during the AERA Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony and Celebration on April 7 in Toronto, Canada.

Some of this year’s winners include:

Dr. Felice J. LevineDr. Felice J. Levine
  • Dr. Shanyce L. Campbell, assistant professor of education at University of California, Irvine was named the recipient of the Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award, which recognizes an outstanding article that appeared in an AERA-sponsored publication.
  • Dr. James L. Moore III, vice provost for diversity and inclusion and chief diversity officer at Ohio State University was named the recipient of the Social Justice in Education Award, which honors an individual who has advanced social justice through education research and embodied the goal of connecting education research to social justice.
  • Dr. Jamila Lyiscott, assistant professor of social justice education at University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Teachers College, Columbia University was named the recipient of the Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research. This award recognizes an education research scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative project(s) between researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable effects on contexts of practice.
  • Dr. Patricia A. Edwards, Distinguished Professor of Teacher Education and senior outreach fellow at Michigan State University was named the recipient of the Scholars of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award. This award is presented to a senior-level scholar, typically at least 20 years after he or she earned a doctoral degree.
  • Dr. Karolyn Tyson, Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Professor and associate chair of the Department of Sociology at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill was named the recipient of the Scholars of Color Mid-Career Contribution Award. Recipients of this award are scholars in mid-career who exceeds the first level of professional appointment and are presented at least 10 years after he or she earned a doctoral degree.

“This year’s award winners exemplify commitment to the study and practice of education,” AERA executive director Dr. Felice J. Levine said in a release. “We are proud to honor their outstanding scholarship and service to the field.”