Create a free Diverse: Issues In Higher Education account to continue reading

Professional Appointments

Professional Appointments

Dr. Lisa M. Porche-Burke has been selected to become the new president of Phillips Graduate Institute in Encino, Calif. She comes to Phillips after having served as chancellor of the California School of Professional Psychology in Los Angeles.  Porche-Burke earned a bachelor’s in psychology from the University of Southern California and a master’s and doctorate, both in counseling psychology from the University of Notre Dame.

Dr. David Pellow has been named an assistant professor in sociology and ethnic studies at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Previously, Pellow served as a post-doctoral fellow in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholars in Health Policy Research at the University of California at Berkeley. He holds a bachelor’s in sociology and religious studies from the University of Tennessee and a master’s and doctorate, both in sociology from Northwestern University.

Dr. Samuel G. White has been named the first dean of the engineering school at Jackson State University in Mississippi. Most recently, he was a professor of electrical engineering at Hampton University in Virginia. White holds a bachelor’s and master’s, both in electrical engineering from Tuskegee University, and a doctorate in electrical engineering from the University of Illinois.

Dr. Collie Coleman has been named as the chief academic officer and an executive administrator at Voorhees College in Denmark, S.C.  Most recently he was vice president for academic affairs at Shaw University in North Carolina. Coleman holds a bachelor’s in English from Shaw University and a doctorate in higher education administration from Ohio State University.

Issac E. Bennett has been named assistant to the president at South Carolina State University. Prior to this appointment, Bennett served as vice president-branch manager of the Edisto Farm Credit financial institution. Bennett holds a bachelor’s in agricultural education from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and a master’s from South Carolina State University.

Thomascine Pippin has been appointed assistant to the president at LeMoyne-Owen College in Tennessee. Pippin brings more than 20 years of experience in various corporations in California and Tennessee. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Harvard University.  

Dr. L. D. Britt has been honored, along with four other individuals by the Association of American Medical Colleges, with a distinguished teaching award for outstanding work as an innovative and skilled medical educator. Britt also is an eight-time winner of the Eastern Virginia Medical School’s Sir William Osler Award for Outstanding Teaching as an Attending Physician. Britt holds a bachelor’s from the University of Virginia and a master’s of public health and medical degrees from Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Public Health.

Dr. Aldolphus Hailstork, a tenured professor of music at Norfolk State University in Virginia, is the 1999-2000 recipient of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers Award for composing, writing and scoring music. This is the second time he has won the award, which is given annually to composers and writers who have exhibited an impressive catalog of original compositions as well as recent performances of those works. Hailstork holds a bachelor’s in music from Howard University and a doctorate in composition from Michigan State University.        

© Copyright 2005 by

The trusted source for all job seekers
We have an extensive variety of listings for both academic and non-academic positions at postsecondary institutions.
Read More
The trusted source for all job seekers